In 2012, the Alabama Legislature passed the Alabama Lifespan Respite Resource Network Act (2012-410) which designates the members of the Alabama Lifespan Respite Coalition. The Governor appoints the coalition comprised of members who are culturally, economically, and geographically diverse and representative of the state demographics. The coalition’s responsibilities are to: (1) build partnerships and coordinate respite care efforts statewide (2) provide public awareness about respite to the citizens of Alabama, and, (3) identify, coordinate, and develop, community/funding resources for respite services.

Members of the Alabama Respite Coalition 2019-2021

Kimberly Lewis Alabama Department of Rehabilitation Services (ADRS)
Marlene Wood Governor’s Office on Disability (GOOD)
Representative Bill Poole Alabama House of Representatives, House Ways & Means Committee Chair – ED
Senator Cam Ward Alabama Senate, Judiciary Committee Chair
Representative Alabama House of Representatives, Health Committee Chair
Senator Jim McClendon Alabama Senate, Health Committee Chair
Lani Richardson Alabama Department of Senior Services (ADSS)
Ginger Wettingfeld Alabama Department of Medicaid (ADM)
Shelia Duncan Alabama Department of Public Health (ADPH), Office of Minority Health
Sallye Longshore Alabama Department of Child Abuse and Neglect Prevention (ADCANP) / Children’s Trust Fund of Alabama
Sam Smith Alabama Department of Human Resources (DHR)
Jewell Pitts Alabama Department of Mental Health (ADMH)
Darryle Powell Alabama Council for Developmental Disabilities (ACDD)
Cheryl Smith United Cerebral Palsy of Huntsville and Tennessee Valley, Inc. (UCP)
Sarita Chaloupka Collaborative Training Partner Representative, CASA of Madison County
Nikki Poe Collaborative Training Partner Representative, West Alabama Area Agency on Aging
Ree Clark Family Caregiver
Hattie Thomas Comm Respite Initiative/Program Representative, Labor of Love
Tim Trimble Comm Respite Initiative/Program Representative, Aaron’s Staff Respite Care
Angel Lowen Autism Society of Alabama (ASA)
Kristina Johnson Hospice Organization Representative, Compassus
Representative Laura Hall Alabama House of Representatives Health Committee, Ranking Minority Member
Anne Hails American Association of Retired Persons (AARP)
Amy Lamb-Eng Statewide Advocacy Group Representative, Alabama Head Injury Foundation
Vera Spinks Family Caregiver
John Beard Director, Beard Brouillette Holdings (former respite care provider)
Karen Pettaway Respite Care Provider, The Resource Center
Dr. Nicole Ruggiano

Dr. Rachel Winston

Ryan Robnett

University Partner

University Partner

Home Health Provider, ComForCare Home Care